Media — April 7, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Michigan Radio wins Michigan Association of Broadcasters “Public Radio Station of the Year”


This news is three weeks old but I wanted to highlight it because Michigan Radio is one of the premier news sites in our state, one I am proud to support with a monthly donation.

The station won the Michigan Association of Broadcasters “Public Radio Station of the Year” in March. In a state with so many excellent public radio stations, this is a high honor and one that is well-deserved. Their reporting is spectacular and they exemplify good journalism during a time when that profession is on the wane in so many ways.

Here are some of the Michigan Radio team members who we spent time with during President Obama’s visit to Ann Arbor last week:

l-r, Rick Pluta (Michigan Public Radio), Tamara Keith (NPR White House correspondent), Mark Brush, Melanie Kruvelis, Kate Wells, Jake Neher (Michigan Public Radio), and Michigan Radio Executive Producer Zoe Clark

In addition to this fine accomplishment, Michigan Radio reporter Lindsey Smith was recently selected as a finalist for “Young Journalist of the Year” by the Detroit Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists which recognizes the area’s best journalists in print, online, radio and television.

Kudos to the team at Michigan Radio. Keep up the great work, folks!

Photos by Anne C. Savage, special to Eclectablog